Gibson Brands Forums

BluesHawk Club

Vestapol

this is the actual address where your Night Hawk lives

"https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/839/28232552757_5f24d6128a_b.jpg"

28232552757_5f24d6128a_b.jpg

BTW mihcmac, my 'NIGHTHAWK' just had a complete Neck over-haul. I dragged that Guitar half-way around the world and back. Played it every day from 2003 to 2016 until it was un-playable. Never put a dime into it and it served me well.I did the frets myself once and was able to make it playable, but I am no Professional Luthier. The Hard-Shell Case got so abused, but it still worked, I threw it out. So I had to decide whether to destroy it, pull a Pete Townsend act on it, or give it a second life. Since the 'NIGHTHAWK' is 'out-of-production' I decided to repair it after I found an original 'NIGHTHAWK' Hard-Shell Case in 'like new' condition last December, 2017.

I shipped it to SWEETWATER Guitar Repair Facility in Indiana. The entire Neck of the Guitar was re-done, Fret-Board was Sanded, re-planed, re-slotted, 22 new Frets installed & PLEK'd, new BONE NUT cut and installed, all new Abalone In-Lays and new Bass & Treble Neck Bindings were installed. The back of the Neck's paint was 'BLED' and then waxed and buffed until like new (even though wear marks are still visible, the neck is smooth as silk!), tuner machines tightened and lubed. The amount of work done took 60 Man-hours, all billable (OWCH!) and the neck is as if new now, and that is from being un-playable. The Luthier's @ SWEETWATER did a great job on it, and it cost enough to where they should have. Only one thing is not perfect: the 12TH Fret IN-Lays are slightly not as colourful as the rest, as you may be able to see in the pic. The Electronics are all original and now the Guitar is 100% Mechanically perfect, as if it were new, but with a few dings, and one small scratch on the Maple Cap.