Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les Paul Custom

Hi, this is my first topic here in this forum!!! I want help to identify this guitar, the year it was build,etc.

I work as a guitar tech and luthier and I have a client that owns this guitar. He bought it years ago in Portugal from an American musician and as you can see from the pictures the guitar as been stored and not played for many years. I haven´t had the chance to see the guitar "personally", only the pictures, and here in Portugal we don´t have many information about old instruments, so I came here to get some help from more informed and expert people!!!

I searched for the information related to the serial number but didn´t find any information.

The tuning machines have been changed but the older ones are in the pictures, the control knobs are different from any Les Paul that I have seen, but the owner already bought it that way. All the other parts and electronic are original. The serial number it´s a litlle bit faded.

This guitar was bought used in the 70´s from a musician, not a store, and my client said that at that time it was already old!!

Hope you can give me some information, the owner wants to restore it to sell, but wants to know more about it´s history!

I can send these and other photos by email, I had to reduce the size of them and couldn´t post all of them

Thanx!

post-56361-078914600 1366908299_thumb.jpg

post-56361-010069300 1366908319_thumb.jpg

post-56361-078735600 1366908332_thumb.jpg

post-56361-095650500 1366908358_thumb.jpg

post-56361-068172400 1366908380_thumb.jpg

post-56361-096912400 1366908530_thumb.jpg

What is the serial number?

What are the potentiometer codes?

Hi!! Thanx for the reply!!!

The pontenciometers codes are TX 1158 500k AT

The serial number I´m not sure it´s a little faded. I thin it´s

852036A

or

852096A

or

85203GA

or

85209GA

But UI can send you pictures if you want.

What is the serial number?

What are the potentiometer codes?