Gibson Brands Forums

2003 Les Paul Custom

I bought this LP Custom about 9 years ago while overseas. It seems authentic, but I am not an expert, and have some weird thing going on with the inlay (I think that's what it's called) on the headstock. Not entirely sure of the specs either. According the web, the serial number (01283618):

Your guitar was made at the

Nashville Plant (Gibson),TN, USA

May 8 2003

Production Number: 318

post-57301-047833500 1370302157_thumb.jpg

post-57301-083023800 1370302394_thumb.jpg

post-57301-006291100 1370302405_thumb.jpg

post-57301-020033800 1370302456_thumb.jpg

post-57301-042255000 1370302512_thumb.jpg

Looks pretty good but almost like some oxidation is occurring on some of the parts. What specific questions do you have? Are you asking about the pickups?

The pickups are 490R neck and 498T bridge I think. Mainly I'd like to know if it's authentic and what the specs are. I know the body is mahogany, and I'm pretty sure the fingerboard is ebony since they hadn't started using Richlite at that point. I'm also a bit concerned about the headstock logo and the way it is distorted a bit. Was that what you were talking about with the oxidation?

The pickups are 490R neck and 498T bridge I think. Mainly I'd like to know if it's authentic and what the specs are. I know the body is mahogany, and I'm pretty sure the fingerboard is ebony since they hadn't started using Richlite at that point. I'm also a bit concerned about the headstock logo and the way it is distorted a bit. Was that what you were talking about with the oxidation?

It looks authentic to me. Not exactly sure of all the woods used, I'm mainly a "Standard" guy; mahogany, maple and rosewood. It may be that the damage on your headstock is due to expansion and contraction of the wood. It's not that big a deal. But some of the hardware looks somewhat worn and dusty. Is it possible that you keep that guitar out of it's case a lot?