Gibson Brands Forums

Going Back To 12" Drivers.

MrNylon

I'm going back to a 2X12 cab, where I started out 44 years ago. I ordered a Gallien-Krueger 212MBE-ll cab today. It's a 4 ohm, 600 Watts, with 2X12" Neodymium drivers. It weighs in at 39 pounds. Another good thing about it, it matches up with my TC Electronic RH450 head. My current Ampeg SVT-410HLF cab, weighs in at 85 pounds. It seems that 12" drivers are coming back. kvelPOF.gif

aaYUa3T.jpg

I'm going back to a 2X12 cab, where I started out 44 years ago. I ordered a Gallien-Krueger 212MBE-ll cab today. It's a 4 ohm, 600 Watts, with 2X12" Neodymium drivers. It weighs in at 39 pounds. Another good thing about it, it matches up with my TC Electronic RH450 head. My current Ampeg SVT-410HLF cab, weighs in at 85 pounds. It seems that 12" drivers are coming back. kvelPOF.gif

aaYUa3T.jpg

I've been playing a 212 cabinet for the last 15 years. First one was an Eden 212XLT and the past 10+ years it's been an Aguilar GS212. When we started gigging heavy and I needed to hump my own gear I had to have something that was a manageable weight and could handle some power while moving enough air to make it count. This was before all the benefits of Neo speakers came into play. At this time a typical 410 cabinet was north of 100 lbs. I am very happy with a single 212 - it handles everything I need, including outdoor shows. The Aggy isn't Neo but it's still something I can handle at 70lbs.

I just bought a Baer ML112, 12" Neo driver with a 6" midrange and it is just an amazing piece of engineering. At 31 lbs it sounds like it should be twice as big. At some point in future I will get another. What a box!

This was my e-mail reply I received back from Gallien-Krueger, when I inquired about the material the cab is constructed of.

"Hello Glenn, It is constructed of plywood. ;-)"

Yeahhhhhhhh!!!!!!! A real cab. Sorry, I got excited! [rolleyes]Yeahhhhhhhh!!!!!!! Yeahhhhhhhh!!!!!!! Yeahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!

aaYUa3T.jpg