Gibson Guitar Board: Slide Setup - Gibson Guitar Board

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Slide Setup How do you setup for slide without killing action?

#1 User is offline   Rockin Rod 

• Group: Members
  • LocationMurrells Inlet, SC

Posted 03 July 2013 - 06:16 AM

I'm a newbie and recently bought a 2011 ES335 and would like to play slide occasionally but don't want to ruin the fast action. I use glass slides on third or pinky finger. Leave it alone and just try not to hit frets? What does everyone else do? Any suggestions?

#2 User is offline   L5Larry 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationSt. Louis, Missouri

Posted 03 July 2013 - 08:10 AM

I don't play slide, but..... I do play in a Blues band with an incredible slide player.

Not only do I setup his guitars, I built his two main Strats. He play regular chords/lead and slide on the same guitar, in both standard and open "E" tuning. The setup for this combination is somewhat of a compromise for both styles.

Here's how his guitars are setup:
1. Medium strings - He uses D'Addario XL115 strings (11-49) and switches out the .011 for a .012. Heavier gauge strings are really the key, I don't know how anybody plays slide on 9's or 10's, much less on a setup the will also be used for fingerstyle.

2. Neck relief - Is standard, just barely "not flat". Neck relief is set for standard playing, as it's really not part of the slide equation. Various open tunings will affect the neck relief, so it's best to start out pretty flat in standard tuning. Many songs require both chording and slide work, so even at the extra tension of say open E tuning, the additional neck bow needs to leave the strings at a height that is fret-able.