Gibson Brands Forums

Anyone had experience with Bigrock Power pins?

Ace23

I have no experience with it but it seems to go against everything that makes a guitar sound good. Adding all of that weight to the bridge can't be good IMHO and that's just the start. Maybe I am wrong, but to my eye it looks like a million other things that pop up as a money making idea for someone but never goes anywhere.

I have no experience with it but it seems to go against everything that makes a guitar sound good. Adding all of that weight to the bridge can't be good IMHO and that's just the start. Maybe I am wrong, but to my eye it looks like a million other things that pop up as a money making idea for someone but never goes anywhere.

Thanks, it looks like a totally revesrible mod, with moneyback guarantte, so i may give it a try just to see www.f1pick.com, they do have some impressive tests on the site

I agree. This seems to be an "upgrade to a downgrade". Ovation used a pin-less bridge where the string travels parallel to the top of the guitar and the ball-end seats at the back of the bridge. However, I always felt that was a way to cheap out. The string doesn't anchor perpendicular to the guitar top and therefore, less of the string's vibrations are transferred to the top.

You see this in electric guitars and basses as well. The cheaper models have the ball-ends seat behind the bridge without going through the body. You get more tone and sustain if the strings travel through the guitar body perpendicular then travel over the saddles parallel to the body.

From the photo above it looks to me that there is now NO break angle over the saddle on this guitar. It has to sound horrible!

yeah i was wondering about that,so youre saying that a les paul suffers from the same problem, the tailpiece is not as good as say a strat? The break angle does seem shallow, but as long as the strings dont buzz, is there a difference?