Gibson Brands Forums

Talk to Me About the Alex Lifeson Les Paul Axcess!

KingLoudness

Hey guys,

My name is Will, I'm an 18 year old guitarist from Eastern Canada. I love Gibson guitars and I'm very happy to be part of this forum!

I am looking at purchasing a used Les Paul Axcess Lifeson signature model. I love the features that the guitar comes with stock, but I've heard numerous horror stories about the electronics. Symptoms include...

- Volume dropouts

- Intermittent piezo sound (likely caused by the piezo wires)

- Issues with piezo bleed

The model I'm looking at is one of the first 100 guitars built, so it lacks the piezo push pull pot to "kill" the piezo signal (though from my reading it seems as though even that mod isn't particularly helpful). Has anyone here done any mods to theirs to improve reliability? I have read about the so-called "McDLT" modification which routes the magnetic signal through one jack and the piezo through the other. This does not interest me as I wouldn't mind having the blend option available (I do not use a stereo amp setup). I was considering having it wired so that one jack is the standard blend, and one jack is magnetic only (as opposed to piezo only). Has anyone here tried such a thing?

Is there anything else I should know about the guitar before pulling the trigger? I am looking to have a very versatile guitar that ultimately has its home base in the Les Paul platform that I love. Pics of your ALs are cool too!

Thanks,

- Will.

Hello Will,

piezo bleed never has been a trouble on my AL792. The intermittent sound problem is common among electronically switched, active stereo/mono guitars and is due to insufficiently charged coupling capacitors when connecting the output to a hi Z input where it may take even minutes until the output cap reaches its operating voltage. There are no bleeder resistors in all the Graph Tech and Fishman outputs of my piezo equipped solidbodies.