Gibson Brands Forums

New Epiphone Problem

Teacher in China

Hello.....I have a 2 year old Epiphone Les Paul standard plus top that has developed a problem....I put new strings on it today and when i started tuning i noticed that on the Big E,A and D strings the volume was like a 2 out 10 and the G,B and little E were perfectly normal and had no problem.I have been playing for many years and this is a first for me ! Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong?I did a wire wiggle test and no cracking or popping.Could my Pickups be bad?......................kenny

Well, It could be that the pickup height needs to be adjusted for those strings.

It may be also that you need to break in the new strings a little more.

Hello.....I have been playing a very long time and all my strings are 042 thru 009 ,there has been no change in the guitar since i played a show at my school a few days ago.I can set up any guitar and something is really strange that my bass strings have no volume to them...its like only 1/2 my pickups are working !.........

Hello.....I have a 2 year old Epiphone Les Paul standard plus top that has developed a problem....I put new strings on it today and when i started tuning i noticed that on the Big E,A and D strings the volume was like a 2 out 10 and the G,B and little E were perfectly normal and had no problem.I have been playing for many years and this is a first for me ! Does anyone have an idea what could be wrong?I did a wire wiggle test and no cracking or popping.Could my Pickups be bad?......................kenny

You most likely put on strings for acoustic guitar instead strings for electric guitar. Strings for acoustic guitar often use non-magnetic wire for the wound part of the lower strings, so only the string core (if at all) generates an electric signal in the pickups.