Gibson Brands Forums

Epi Masterbuilt acoustics

davidl

Does anyone have experience with the Masterbuilt series? If so, what are your thoughts.

My father in law has asked me to help him find an acoustic guitar for him in the $500-$700 Canadian range. I have no experience in this price range but really want him to have the best bang for his buck.

He mentioned a low end Martin but I'm not so sure. I think he can do better for the money.

Any recommendations?

Thanks

Dave

Does anyone have experience with the Masterbuilt series? If so, what are your thoughts.

My father in law has asked me to help him find an acoustic guitar for him in the $500-$700 Canadian range. I have no experience in this price range but really want him to have the best bang for his buck.

He mentioned a low end Martin but I'm not so sure. I think he can do better for the money.

Any recommendations?

Thanks

Dave

You will do much better with a Masterbilt than with a Martin--a new one, anyway--in that price range. Low end Martins are not very well made, and of a kind of pressed-wood. The unvarnished necks feel very rough, too. The Epi M'bilt will be all solid wood and well put together. Problem right now is that Epiphone has pulled all the Masterbilt models save two or three, I believe. Not as much choice as when I got mine, an AJ500RC 12-fret, now discontinued. There is, though, a chance you can find a decent (at least solid-top) used Martin in the high end of that price range.