Gibson Brands Forums

What type of "adjustments" have you made on your Epiphone ?

crust

Have a new Sheridan. Adjusted intonation and string height. Changed strings to Gibson Brights. Glued the input jack nut so it won't come loose.

That's it until I get to know it a little more. These adjustments did help significantly though. I like the OEM pickups also.

Not sure what people mean by clean up the nut. How does one know if a guitar needs this ? Just curious.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Dam nice guitars Tweed2 . like the Ric. I think as far as playing guitar working on them and setting them up is part of playing . if we don't try we don't learn . I have been playing for 50 years and i do set some of mine up different then others . Hey i have been into Gibsons most of my playing years but i do like the epiphones a lot . I think all guitars need the adjustment factor to all of them . that's why they have so much adjustment . But what do i know , but i know i like that Ric. Cats not bad ether

Woody, the cat, actually plays the guitar. He'll sit and watch me play, then when I set the guitar down he paws the strings and seems to enjoy the sound. I'm going to try to catpure it next time I have my phone and he does it. He appears pretty proud of himslf. As for the Ric, if I could only keep one guitar.......

Just looked through a cupla responses...

RE: setup unless purchased from Sweetwater...

The only time I have had major, major problems with a guitar setup came from Sweetwater. In one case the strings were flat on the frets of an Epi AE. That returned, the second one returned was almost as bad.

Don't get me wrong, I actually believe that Sweetwater's folks probably did mess with the guitars, both of them.

But I live several thousand feet higher and in a much dryer climate.