Gibson Brands Forums

HG-00 value?

Tony Done

Hi folks I'm new to this forum, so I'll do a very brief bio. I've been fingerpicking for over 50 years, and currently own a 1935 L-00 and '95 LP Special. (I like P100s O:))

Before the weekend I went to look at an old Gibson that was in my mate's shop for repair, being described as a 1938 L-00. It didn't take much research figure out that it was a converted HG-00 - 12-fret neck, non-intonated saddle, generous but comfortable C-shaped neck. I looked again this morning, the damaged label reads "Gibson Kalamazoo", and the number stamped on the headstock is EG-4613, and there is a number penciled on the underside of the upper bout that might read 2-2526.

It has been very amateurishly refinished in natural,

the back is cracked,

several braces are loose and one is broken,

the bridge is coming off and has been butchered - new bridge needed

the Gibson logo isn't original, looks and feels like stick-on, though I think it is the right style more or less.

there is a badly repaired crack in the front

the neck angle is too low to get a low action - neck reset needed

it sounds great in its own way.

Have I missed anything?

I'm wondering if anyone would care to put an approximate value on it. I haven't been able to find anything relveant, except that examples in good condition go for big $.

Thanks for your help.

Hey Tony,

welcome to the Forum.

Can your buddy give you any idea of the cost of repairs?....And would you be giving it a proper re-finish also? It sounds like it has had extensive damage and conversion work done. I would be hard-pressed to give a value at this time...It seems though that the value could be easily consumed by the repair bill and the non-original factors of the guitar.

Pictures would be nice. Let us know what you decide.

Rod

Hey Tony,

welcome to the Forum.