Gibson Brands Forums

I am new to all of this

mr newhaven

Hey buddies!

I didnt even know there was a "Recording Room" here on this board...excellent!

I now have another avenue to ask redundant questions!

ok so let me give a bit of back story...(not sure if its necessary but i have to keep looking like i'm working)

so im 26 now...(you can roll your eyes later)

i played the guitar briefly in high school for like a year and then forgot all about it for the next 9.

i picked up a Les Paul VM like a year and a half ago and since then developed quite a little guitar habit...

About 6 months ago i picked up an Apogee Duet...(awesome by the way) and garageband...(i have a macbook pro)

i have an extra bedroom in my condo and am in the process of converting it into a guitar room/studio...

i picked up an auralex gramma to put under my amp (a mercury magnetics modded champ 600)

*i would like to get a ballsier amp eventually...but unless i sound isolate...i am going to piss of my neighbors...and after the freaking $500 i shelled out just to mod my amp...it sounds pretty bad *** now and as a result i am all set on amps for a bit*

I dont plan on recording any vocals yet...I don't want to offend the civilized world...but i did want to record on my electrics/acoustics...in part to hear myself play and look to improve where i sound flat/sharp...out of sync...and partly because i would like to save ideas i get when im just noodling around...

so here are my question(s):

1. I know there is a board currently on mics...and i'll read more of it but my question is will a condensor mic record good acoustic guitar? (i am not worried as much by my electrics because i can just plug directly into my apogee)

2. Secondly do i need different kinds of mics if i wanted to record off my amp??