Gibson Brands Forums

Some tips for my new EB-03 bass setup, please !

AndyFraser65

Hi to you all,

I recently purchased (thanks to a popular italian online store), a EB-03 bass, of which I am very satisfied; i state that i am a guitarist and i play guitar for more than 25 years, but for quite some time now, i am passionate about electric bass and being a lover of 70's rock (especially Cream and Free), the choice of this Epiphone bass seemed to me almost mandatory! …

I would like to ask an opinion about the set-up of my bass; i do for many years, all the adjustments and all the repairs that i am able to do alone, and so, i started to do this job...

I usually measure the neck of a bass with a capo at the first fret and a finger at the last fret where the neck join the body, so I measured the action at the eighth fret with a feeler gauge and, with this Epiphone EB-03, i have a value of 0.15mm, i would say definitely a straight neck…

As you can imagine, i'm not yet a very capable bass player but, i can say, i really like the feel of the neck and the string action is quite low, then, i like the smoothness of neck !

As a reference, the action of the strings that I have measured is at the twelfth fret, 1.6mm for the D string and 2.0mm to the E string. The strings are the original from the factory.

I would like to ask what you think about it, for your experience, particularly, if the truss rod or the neck itself may be damaged adjusted so straight... Personally, i do not think that there could be problems, but I prefer to ask opinions of others with more experience than me.

There were many years since i used to buy an Epiphone instrument, i must confess that i do not have much experience with instruments from this brand, which is why i'm asking your precious help.

I would like to thank you in advance for any advice and any attention you want to give me ;-)