Gibson Brands Forums

I Am Brand New To Guitars, Advice??

xZ1mM3r

Hey whats going on guys, i am a brand new member here, just joined. I have not bought a guitar yet, i have never played one, but i have a desire to learn. I have looked around at some beginner guitars and starter kits. I found the Epiphone Special II Player Pack, and i am leaning towards buying it to get started. I have gotten some advice that it would be a good idea to check Used Guitars first, such as from Guitar Center, but its tough because i dont really know whats a good guitar or what is a good deal. I find some Epiphone Special II guitars on there for 100$ or less, which seems like a good deal, but i also see a lot of other guitars in the 100-150$ range, but i dont know enough about them to know whether or not im seeing a smoking good deal on a guitar that is usually more expensive.

any advice would be helpful, pictures too please! So far i LOVE how gibsons/epiphones look, at the head of the guitar. (not sure what its call, but how 3 stings go to the top and 3 go to the bottom rather than all 6 goinf to one side)

Whatever guitar you get, take it to a competent luthier for a setup / checkup etc. The little things like fret dressing and a bone nut that'll run you probably $100 total are huge when you're playing, and will make your first time experience while learning a lot more pleasant.

Whatever guitar you get, take it to a competent luthier for a setup / checkup etc. The little things like fret dressing and a bone nut that'll run you probably $100 total are huge when you're playing, and will make your first time experience while learning a lot more pleasant.

Perhaps go and see a reputable luthier for some advice. He might even have or know of someone that has a nicely set up guitar for sale.