Gibson Brands Forums

acoustic strings

Richie123

hi guys im thinking about using gibson masterbuilt 11-52 gauge strings on my epiphone ej-160e will this be a wrong move or a good choice if im gonna use with the pick up if it is how bad would the sound be and how good .??????

Its a good choice but they really don't last very long. I personally love the sound. Give it a try and try other makes, experiment what sounds good to some might not be what you like. There are a ton of string manufacturers now and its very hard to settle on one but that's fine try as many as you want.

I use D'Addario 10-46 Nickel Would EXL 110 strings with a wound G on my EJ-160-E and I get a really authentic George/John tone from the guitar when I use this setup.The first time that I put on these strings and played the intro of "I Feel Fine" plugged into my AC-15,I was absolutely floored when I heard the exact tone that I had been listening to for over 40 years.Although the EJ-160-E doesn't nail the acoustic tone of the original Gibson J-160-E,it does sound very close and has great acoustic volume and presence.It is useless to put bronze or phosphor/bronze strings on this guitar as the pickup won't respond to these alloys since magnets respond to metal alloys but not non-ferrous metals and alloys.Of all the strings that I have used on my EJ-160-E,the D-Addario EXL-110s are by far head and shoulders above all takers in quality.

• 2 weeks later...

I've used just about every string you can imagine on mine, electric and acoustic.

If your going to play acoustically without plugging in the Elixir Phospher/Bronze in 12-53 will sound fine.

I play mine plugged in most of the time so I use Elixir Electric Nanoweb 12-52, the best I've heard plugged in.

I have tried several sets of electric flat wounds and just hate the sound, and feel.

Trial and error, whatever your ear prefers.

My preferred acoustic strings are Martin 80/20 Bronze (as opposed to PhBr).