Gibson Brands Forums

2014 is definitively not my year

awel

So after being fired from my own blues rock trio few month ago (luckily I am in another band now), Thursday I was called by the N°2 of my company and ... I've been fired!

I still can't believe it, they called me 4 month ago to join their company, I was employee of another one but they proposed me a better salary and a better company car, so I joined them as a test engineer, I never lied during my interviews so I told them I was not a developper, I have basic knowledge but not to pretend to be a developer.

They said I was not meeting their expectation, but I was supposed to do testing not development!

Sorry to talk about this on this forum but I feel ashamed to tell my family and friends :(

That's a tough break in the road that's for sure!! The key is to pick yourself up, regroup, and move full ahead w/o looking back. The ONLY reason to look back, IMHO, is to see what you could have done better, seen the situation clearer, or what to avoid doing! If you can't see anything your could have done or seen for a different outcome, then that's the the deal of THIS hand of the cards. YOU'RE NOT OUT OF THE GAME HOWEVER!!! [thumbup] [thumbup]

Being in business, I've been wrongfully sued for $350,000.00, at times deal with unreasonable demands and make them okay on my pocketbook, and battle with employees that have tried to walk off with my vendors/clients. Harsh words but meant to really help you out here. Get over it FAST and use those engineering skills to logically evaluate your situation & how you got there, and get cracking! Screw the embarrassment & shame as it won't help you a dime. Business can make mistakes, and instead of working with you by placing into another position, they either weaned out or maybe had no other choice due to $$.

Best wishes to you in your search. Life can be a bowl of cherries but you do have to deal with the pits!

Aster