Gibson Brands Forums

Hummingbird vs Dove

Not-Too-Late

I'm new to acoustic, as all my playing revolves around solid body electrics. Recently I was looking at the Epiphone AJ-220S for my wife, but put in on hold due to her wanting to put her focus on learning piano. So that's on the shelf for the time being. For myself, I'm looking at a few electric acoustics, and two of the models I'm eyeing are the Hummingbird and the Dove. I'm hoping to have a look at then next week, but I'm wondering what the differences are between the two. Can anyone assist me with this please?

Cheers

Wayne

Hummingbird: Mahogany all around with a spruce top = Warm and Woody tone.

Dove: Maple all around with a spruce top = Cool and Bright tone.

The choice is yours. Might try to record the vocalist (yourself?) accompanied by both, then compare.

For me it's Warm and Woody, gimme a 'Bird.

I agree with TommyK ...the mahogany Hummingbird for me...I own the Gibson Hummingbird and the Epiphone Hummingbird...of the 27 guitars I have owned in my life....the mahogany Hummingbirds by far exceed expectations for both beauty and warm rich tone designed to compliment the human voice. The dove is nice but very bright in tone...verses the Hummingbird which is warmer and more luscious in tone. The choice however is yours. The AJ-220sce which I also own is also an exceptional guitar with great tone and action, and is also mahogany.

Hummingbird: Mahogany all around with a spruce top = Warm and Woody tone.

Dove: Maple all around with a spruce top = Cool and Bright tone.

The choice is yours. Might try to record the vocalist (yourself?) accompanied by both, then compare.

For me it's Warm and Woody, gimme a 'Bird.

I have to say after playing both today out of the box the dove is a superior guitar in tone and feel the hummingbird sounded and felt like a toy

I played the Dove 6 months ago and found it very good for the tag. But have to disagree with the Bird = mellow/warm, Dove = bright/cool idea.