Gibson Brands Forums

Ist post, new member, need opinion and advise!

warpdrive

Hello, i have been a professional bluegrass musician, off and on the road since i was 17, primarily a banjo picker! I haven't owned a guitar in several years, but am getting ready to purchase an advanced jumbo, i have been looking at the ones on wildwood's web sit, but i have a friend that has one in mint conduction, on pick marks or capo dents, beautiful, he just bought it at least 5 years ago from a man that needed money, he will let me have it for 1800.00, is that a decent price, and is there any distinctabel difference in a brand new aj and one that is maybe 7-10 years old or older? thanks for all opinions and response! Btw, i want a gibson because they are so anti-martin, have always loved gibbons!

yeah, i don't know if he will haggle, that is what he has in the guitar, and he himself is a professional musician(used to own a music store and still goes to trade shows and guitar shows!) I always like the sound of really good gibsons as a kid, but in the 60's and 70's you had to really cull through them to find a hoss! i was visiting a friend in nashville last week, and was playing his 42,j-45, and when he was out on the road, i would play his aj that he used on stage, i have heard that the advanced jumbo's are the most powerful, but i like there darker than a martin tone! like i said, i am taken with the sound of some the vids on the wildwood guitars site, but greg koch could string up a 2x4 and make it sound good!

I feel the savings of $800 on a guitar you can attest to quality in person, is as good or better than full priced new. It should be more broken in and loosened up, and any issues that would have popped up would have probably already done so. This would be my logic on it.