Gibson Brands Forums

Total novice in open tunings…...

onewilyfool

I wanted to branch out into the open tuning universe, but I realized it's not needed unless you become obsessed with a particular song in open. There are just so many freekin' songs you can learn and master in a lifetime...and certainly plenty are there in standard for the plucking. Who knows? When I run into that one song I just have to be able to play I'll take the leap.

If you are in the mood to putz around with some Skip James tunes you might want to try out Em tuning.

Although not really a blues player, when it comes to tunings the guy who boggles my mind is Joseph Spence. Basically he plays a lot in Drop D and often will tune down a whole step. But I swear at times he sounds like he has the top three strings tuned just a smidgeon sharp.

They do different things. According to Ry, Open D (Vestapol) tuning is modal, doesnt care about chrod changes much. Melody lines run horizontally up and down the board. Blind Willie Jonson and Fred McDowell country. Plus Piedmont guys like WIllie McTell & Peg Leg Howell. Open G (Spanish) is based on a banjo tuning (Ry again), is more orirented to rolls and chordal moves. Robert Johnson, Charlie Patton, Ms John Hurt & Memphis Minnie. John Lee Hooker. But Fred McDowell also has some terrific pieces in Spanish (A for him).

Where to begin? Start with a tune you like and go from there. Peg Lowells Howells Skin Game blues is a great starter in D (one of many). Or Eliz. Cotton's Vestapol. For G? try Walking Blues, Hurt's Frankie or Fred's Train I Ride.

I wanted to branch out into the open tuning universe, but I realized it's not needed unless you become obsessed with a particular song in open.