Gibson Brands Forums

New J45 Ordered

brixa

Based in the UK i've just put a deposit down on a new J45 Custom Rosewood after playing a few that were consistently brilliant at my local Gibby stockist.

This will be a nice rosewood counterpart to my hog 160.

Can't wait now. It was on pre-order anyway and is on route from the US. I pick it up within the next 3 weeks and will post pics then.

Any experiences and current owner comments welcome 👍

Congratulations on the Custom J45 I'm sure you will love it too.

I have a Custom also it's a Mystic RW model It came with the LR Baggs but I removed that pup and installed the Trance Amulet MVT in it and its sound is fantastic .

great looking to boot!

Hers a pic..

image_zps27b5d3bc.jpg

image_zpsa8d67bd0.jpg

Hi brixa,

I'm UK based too and a recent J45 Custom owner. Obviously all opinions are personnel but for me this guitar is the whole package. Like most I started playing with sub £200 and worked my up through the ladder. I haven't owned many 'high end' guitars like this, my previous guitar was Gibson J-35 which I loved. The J-35 opened my eyes as to what a guitar could sound/play like and wetted my appetite for what else was out there. I managed a weekend end away in a city with plenty of guitar shops and played my way through many Taylors, Gibson and Martin. They all sounded way better than I expected and in my opinion at this level there are no bad guitars - it comes to personnel taste. Picking up the J45 Custom stopped me in my track's this guitar can be quiet and subtle (dust in the wind and behind blue eye's sound so good I almost must play them every day!). Pick up a pick (!) and strum and WOW it becomes a different guitar, this guitar can be played loud and powerful, it begs to be played harder and harder.