Gibson Brands Forums

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Rabs

Having read the 4 books multiple times starting in 1975ish, I was a bit skeptical that the Hobbit being made in to three movies was overkill given the LOTR had only three. But I like'd the first 2 from the Hobbit so far, looking forward to seeing this last one.

I think they have been great.

/Ray

Not seen any of them yet. I'm going to wait until they're all out then have a watchfest!

That's a good plan.

The Desolation of Smaug get's my vote for "Ending to leave you hanging the most"....

Me and my kid kinda just looked at each other and said,,"huh?".

Will see that on the big screen for sure.

Whilst I think the films are excellent pieces of work, I do have some issues with them, in that I believe they trivialise the story's. As an ex teacher, I've seen kid's who have no idea that the whole thing is derived from a series of books, having seen the films, cannot see any point in reading them. I've even met uninformed adults with the same view, one even making comparisons with Harry Potter! It makes me want to cry.

Ian