Gibson Brands Forums

I was considering buying an EF500RA...

Cougar

As meanstreak will tell you, EF500M's and RA's don't come up for sale very often. Only made from 2004 - 2010 or thereabouts. There must have been a lot of them made, but whoever's got them, they must like them. They're not selling 'em. All the EF500s now are cutaways, which just do not appeal to me. I appreciate cliffenstein locating that one EF500M that came up for sale, 'just arrived' at some guitar center down in Tucson, and he was right to encourage me to pick it up. It is nice.

But I'm new to these acoustics. I've got a few very nice Epi electrics I started picking up a few years ago. But my guitar roots are acoustic - early Donovan, Dylan, say. Anyway, I started my "research" looking at Martins and Gibsons. Yeah, nice, classic, but, uh, too expensive. So I'm looking into the Masterbilt line, reviews, specs, etc. Yeah, one reviewer says the RA is way over the top with the abalone. Should I take on his opinion? Maybe I should make up my own mind. Then the 500M turns up, I snatch it up for a pretty good price, and I'm glad I did.

Still, I was thinking about bidding on that EF500RA that was up on ebay a week or so ago, the photo of which lucille posted in his (?) thread about "considering buying a EF500RA". Thinking maybe throw in a lowball bid, then I thought, why the hell not just go for it big? I might like that abalone. It's pretty stunning, I'll say that. And the RA's seem to be the rare of the rare. So, auction ends Sunday 9:00 p.m. It was a long day. I was exhausted. I was waiting, waiting... I'll just lay down for a minute. Next thing I know, I'm waking up and it's 9:15. I totally missed the auction. Man, what a let down!