Gibson Brands Forums

Should I go ahead with it?

cutter

Hi all,

40-year old newbie here, only a few months into the world of guitar playing. I bought my first guitar back in March; it was a cheap Fender Squier, the idea being that I didn’t want to spend a fortune buying a really nice or expensive guitar when I didn’t know whether guitar playing would stick with me or it would be something that would get out of my system in a few days or months time.

In that short period of time, two things have become crystal clear to me. One, is that I am by no means born to play the guitar and alas I don’t have any kind of special gift in playing, and I chose wisely not to quit my day job to become a guitar player (just kidding!). The second thing is that I am definitely not seeing myself quitting anytime soon. So, to make a long story short, I am entertaining the thought of purchasing what I consider to be the most beautiful guitar I’ve ever seen, which is the LP Traditional 120 Flame Top.

There are two things on my mind; one being the weight of the guitar (must be double that of my Squier) and most importantly… is it just plain wrong for a newbie who still can’t in all honesty maintain proper finger position when playing power chords, be even thinking of buying such a guitar? I somehow feel like it’d be a sacrilege :) I’ve also seen a somewhat similar post to mine with a poll and it seems like the vast majority of LP owners waited years if not decades before buying one.