Gibson Brands Forums

New Fern

Dave F

Wow! Congrats! That is gorgeous [thumbup] ...I love Gibson mandolins but have never been able to fully justify buying one myself as I am primarily a guitarist, thus all my funds go on geetars. That beauty puts my old Epi MM30 mandolin to shame!! I want one!

• 11 months later...

Just looking at your photos makes my heart go bumpity-bump. Absolutely gorgeous, Dave. And since you're in the heart of bluegrass country, I have a sneaking suspicion you're already a dang good player - probably born that way. Congratulations!

Ordered this back in January. Just came today. Now I have to learn how to play it.

f5l1_zpsee061782.jpg

f5l7_zpse7d9eb92.jpg

f5l2_zpsad5b24a8.jpg

Really nice.

I bought a Gibson F5-G back in late May.

I was expecting a nice flame back like on your Fern, but it's kind of weird.

I'd up load the pics, but I think I shot my wade on photos at this forum today.

anyway I was think of sending it back. It's signed by Dave Harvey and the thing sounded so nice I kept it.

Very nice looking. I think I like the flower pot inlaid better than the fern

I like the plainer look of the F5G myself.

The back on mine wasn't what I was expecting, but as I looked at it more and more, I must say it's unique. I could probably line up ever F5G made this year and pick mine out of the pack.

Sound wise it's really good. I compared it to a few Webers and even my friends Weber. It blows his Bitterroot Weber away in spade.

It was kind of a lot of money for a second rate mandolin player. I only have one other mandolin that I purchased way way back. It's a Flatiron A model Performer, with a very nice flame back.

I [post a pic of that later.

• 3 months later...

Ordered this back in January. Just came today. Now I have to learn how to play it.

It's absolutely gorgeous, top of the line, but did you really buy a $9,000 mandolin to "learn how to play" it?