Gibson Brands Forums

Need Bridge Expert's!

Mr. C.O. Jones

A few days ago i wanted to set my action a little lower on my LPJ 2013, when i finished i went to intonate my bridge.

Everything was fine until i started to adjust the g-string saddle, suddenly the screw stoped turning.

I tried to turn it back and then the screw head fell of.

There was no tension on the string i always de-tune when i touch the saddles.

I turned the screw not like an animal, just little pressure but i have never seen a screw's head break that way.

And well i think now that i have screwed my bridge i may buy new one.

I heard that for example the ABR-1 is better than the Nashville bridge ( i think my guitar has a Nashville bridge not sure about).

I'd like to lower the tailpiece and i read that ABR-1 style bridges are better for this purpose.

Well i have to say i'm not an expert and if there is an option to buy a bridge with pre filed saddles i would prefer it.

I think all original Gibson bridges have no filings at the saddles.

Ok what i need to know before i order a new one is:

- different brands and models that would fit perfectly on my posts

- pros and cons about other bridges

- and if they affect my guitars sound in any way, materials/designs (saw some roller bridges but with them i loose sustain thats not an option)

Thanks and greetings!

A few days ago i wanted to set my action a little lower on my LPJ 2013, when i finished i went to intonate my bridge.

Everything was fine until i started to adjust the g-string saddle, suddenly the screw stoped turning.

I tried to turn it back and then the screw head fell of.

There was no tension on the string i always de-tune when i touch the saddles.

I turned the screw not like an animal, just little pressure but i have never seen a screw's head break that way.

And well i think now that i have screwed my bridge i may buy new one.