Gibson Brands Forums

Stainless Steel Strings? Perhaps Elixir?

Notes_Norton

To my knowledge it is PTFE what makes them hazardous waste after use.

Sounds like something I don't want to be absorbed through my fingers.

I've always avoided coated strings because I figure if the manufacturer isn't willing to tell me what they are coating the string with, there is a reason why. So what are two possible reasons? (1) trade secret, but any competitor can buy a set and have it analyzed (2) you might not want to absorb it through your fingers.

I never thought about any of this until the 1980s. It is when I started playing a lot of wind synth, flute, and keyboards on stage along with my saxes. Saxophone reeds dry out, and when you re-wet them, they can warp. The result is that they are more difficult to control, completely unpredictable at times, and have a duller tone until the warp works itself out somewhere mid-song.

So I bought plastic covered reeds. They work great, in fact, they were better than pure can reeds. I grew up playing natural cane reeds, and I put one on my tongue while assembling the sax to wet it. So with the plasticover reeds, out of habit, the first thing I did when I opened the case was put a reed on my tongue. Then I noticed the plastic made my tongue slightly numb. At first I just ignored that and enjoyed the improved response of the reeds -- and then I started thinking -- whatever it is that is making my tongue numb, is it something I want in my body? So that was the end of coated reeds.

Now if Elixir tells me their strings are safe, but they won't tell me what they are coating them with, I'm all of a sudden having a problem with that.

Perhaps changing strings often isn't so bad after all. It might be worse for the environment in that it uses more resources, but it might also be better for me.

Does anybody have any input that can help me with this newest dilemma?

Thanks,

Notes

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply