Gibson Brands Forums

1964 Gibson LG0 repair and modification questions

Handmedownguitars

Hello everyone, I am new to the guitar forums as a member, but have read dozens of posts over the past few years. I chose my username based on the fact that I am the only "kid" in my generation on both sides of my family that learned to play guitar and so grandpa and uncle instruments are being handed down. Applause to Martin and everything else in between, so I really am starting to appreciate the different "voices" of different guitars. Fifteen years ago I would have told you they all sound the same.

My questions today relate to a 1964 Gibson LG0 and I thought I would ask here at the Gibson forum to keep the "you should have bought this brand" comments from taking over the thread. What I would really like is for those of you who own or have owned an LG0 and have tried repairs to chime in.

Last week for my birthday, I decided that buying a guitar that is older than me might make me feel younger. I don't know that it helped, but I do like the guitar. It is all original in the original case, except for one bridge pin that was replaced in 1995. It even came with some vintage Gibson guitar polish which looks like the guitar has had used on it, because it looks almost new. I would rate it around a 9 on a 10 point scale, but there are things I am wondering about to spruce it up. So here are some topic questions:

post-67429-032848600 1410615162_thumb.jpg

post-67429-062043200 1410615356_thumb.jpg

post-67429-097303100 1410615369_thumb.jpg

post-67429-091373000 1410615383_thumb.jpg

post-67429-012151100 1410615338_thumb.jpg

1) I guess first is the bridge. It is the plastic one that almost everyone seems to loathe, but unlike most it is in pristine condition. I guess you could say it is lifting a little, but it is a very little (as in you can't shove a thin pick under the front edge without effort). Should I try to tighten the bolts underneath or will that cause tension problems?