Gibson Brands Forums

Problems with G-Force Tuners

Gary_T

Hello folks.

I have purchased my very first Gibson Les Paul. I have been playing for 35 years and absolutely love this guitar.

It's a 2015 and it came with the G-Force tuners. They seemed like a very cool thing at first, but I am soon realizing they are more problematic than they are worth.

First thing, the guitar does not stay in tune. Even after stretching the strings, in the middle of a song, the guitar is out of tune.

The next problem I have encountered is when you turn the G-Force on to tune the guitar, sometimes it takes forever for the Strings to tune. In one instance it took over two minutes.

Am I the only person experiencing problems with the G-Force tuners.

Ah well...

If you look in here;

http://forum.gibson....n-tech-guitars/

A problem shared is a problem halved - or so they say.

Share your woes with all the others who have experienced the same trouble - and also completely different problems - with the MinETune/G-Force stuff.

Sorry to hear about the issues but not surprised in the least I'm afraid to say.

P.

The next problem I have encountered is when you turn the G-Force on to tune the guitar, sometimes it takes forever for the Strings to tune. In one instance it took over two minutes.

Hello Gary, and welcome here.

New guitars of all makes tend to lack tuning stability for a certain period, at least all of mine did. My newest one still does less than two weeks after buying and setup which I think is normal. All of them have manual tuners, partly locking, partly not.

Two minutes are normal for precise manual tuning, and one will have to rework after warming up strings. I don't want to put down MinE-Tune and GForce here, but the fastest way of tuning are finetuning tailpieces and Floyd Rose vibrato bridges I think. Using them takes me a few seconds only.

Well....