Gibson Brands Forums

Does anybody else get pissed or I am in the minority?

splake

Hey Guys, Maybe I just need to vent. And I know I am a newbie but here goes.

I go to Guitar center by my crib about once or twice a month, sometimes more, sometimes less. Anyway, as many of you know Guitar Center as a Humidity controlled Acoustic room. They are always cool enough to give you a pic, or let you plug in etc. What really hacks me off, is the way I see many treating the guitars.

They have J-45s , hummingbirds, and some pretty expensive Martins hanging on the wall, along with the Fenders, Alvarez's, taylors, etc. I see dudes in there banging them when they take them down from the top row, banging them and today I saw a dude in there really cracking on the tuners. He couldnt play, I think he was just a poser. I mean is it just me? I see the High end guitars really scratched up, below the pick guard and above the hole. I saw a Taylor 12 string with two broken strings. I know it aint my business and it is up to management at the G-center, but Anybody else ever say anything to one of these posers?

I guess It bothers me, is I know how hard I have to work and save to buy my guitars and I know I should just walk away and keep my mouth shut, but Jesus. [cursing]

T

Although I sometimes find "new" showroom guitars with damages beyond repair through polishing, I never witnessed anybody doing any harm to an instrument. I guess it is also about the dealer taking care of business.

Maybe I'm a bit old-fashioned, but I ask before taking any instrument off the wall. Since I always ask for a strap allowing for appropriately trying out while standing, it happens automatically so to say. I wouldn't even dare taking a brand-new strap off the wall and use it. But this is just me...