Gibson Brands Forums

Solid Top vs. Plywood Concern

jerry2015

Hi.Gnu here.

I just read through a real interesting thread here about Laminate ply vs. Solid Archtop but it didn't in so many words address a specific concern I have.

My background is I currently own just one semi-hollow, which is a *1973 Les Paul Signature.

*It is, of course, a laminate ply guitar ( and I may not be real precise with these terms, I apologize).

I am currently thinking of selling the 'LP Signature, and getting a solid carved top guitar, mainly cause I cannot afford to probably keep the Signature.

So I am thinking of getting a Midtown Custom .

I do have one question though that would make all the difference in my decision, and its kind of hard to ask , but here goes nothing;

Do you know how when you play a ES335 or a plywood laminate top semi hollow like the 335,under gain with considerable volume and some distortion, you get the air moving and coming out of the F-holes and the guitar kind of feels alive or responsive in your hands?...I hope so.

My question is then; Would a plywood top guitar do this more so than a carved solid top? Is body size a factor here maybe too( I know the 335 and y Signature are the big bodied models compared to the smaller size 356(?) and 339 I think , which would be the carved tops if I am not mistaken.

Anyway, I love that air moving out of the f-holes! I wouldn't give that up.

I hope I'm not out in space here- anyone know what I mean?

TIA

Well, there's just one note, c#3 at high volumes to be exact, where the air is moving through the f holes of my single semi-hollow, but I try to avoid that since top and back feel like close to explosion. Don't laugh, these things can happen, in particular to hollowbodies through feedback resonance.

Don't laugh,

Hah! ( sorry).

I believe it. I never thought of that.I might incorporate that into my act? ( he was playing so hard his guitar exploded).