Gibson Brands Forums

Possible new SG cracked headstock

turtle

Hey all, I'm new to the SG world. I was wondering what an SG faded with the bat pickguard and 490 pickups WITH a cracked headstock goes for? I was working construction and found in a control room of a studio, a faded SG unstrung with no bridge and tail, cracked headstock laying against wall with cables on it and basically thrown to the side on a pile of junk. I asked if it was up for grabs as I love a good project, and would love to get on the SG boat. The guy said yes. What do I offer? New at music zoo they're 600 bucks. I figure no bridge, tail, and broken headstock someone already tried to nail on, and scrapes and a tiny bit of marker that looks like a signature, but on close inspection it looks like a kid with a marker got a hold of it. Not a big spot but there. Do I say give it to me as it's been literally thrown away or do I try to be fair and offer something. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Cheers -

Turtle

With the words "cracked headstock", definitely not worth it no matter what.

rct

rct, I wouldn't say not worth it, no matter what because of the "cracked headstock". I had my 2011 SG Standard knocked off of a guitar stand during a gig (I was

at the time playing my CS-336 when the SG got knocked over) and the headstock snapped right off. It was a clean break. I brought it to a respected luthier in the

area I live in and he fixed it so you would not know it without looking closely. The SG now actually plays better than it di before. Go figure.

rct, I wouldn't say not worth it, no matter what because of the "cracked headstock". I had my 2011 SG Standard knocked off of a guitar stand during a gig (I was

at the time playing my CS-336 when the SG got knocked over) and the headstock snapped right off. It was a clean break. I brought it to a respected luthier in the