Gibson Brands Forums

What is a condenser vs dynamic mic?

skilsaw

Is that enough questions?

I"m new here, and this seems to be the best place for my questions.

My son got a traynor acoustic amp for guitar and vocals that puts out a low level of phantom power.

I understand phantom power is needed to run a condenser mic, so that is what we purchased to go with the amp.

Now we are looking at an amp for electric guitar that doesn't state "Phantom power". Do we need a dynamic mic for it, or will the condenser mic work?

Do dynamic and condensor mics both use the same 3 prong jacks?

Can a mic be plugged in to an amp through a 1/4 inch jack?

Please help me with these totally rookie questions.

I'm new at this and am trying to learn fast.

Good questions skilsaw... [thumbup]

Many folks hereon know, understand and use all types of mic...

Many folks hereon use all types of mic without understanding their intricacies... [thumbup]

IMX the majority of dynamic mics are 3 pin 'XLR' for direct connection to mixer/amp/PA

Similar with powered condenser mics...although some are 2 pin jack...

There are however, XLR into 1/4" conversion cables which can input into 'mic' or 'line' level 1/4" jack inputs which some amps have...

Any guitar and vocal amp (loosely termed PA) will have a specification defining it's inputs etc

V

:-({|=

The most common balanced signal connector format is the XLR 3-31 standard. Since it also is the most common of all the XLR connectors, I will call it simply XLR in the following. It is widely used for audio applications, analog as well as digital. The following is narrowed to analog only.

Common rules are the following:

- XLR mic inputs with switchable phantom power will accept dynamic and condenser mics as well.

- When connecting or disconnecting, the phantom power source unit or the phantom power itself should be turned OFF. The volume control of the related channel must be turned down to zero or more precisely minus infinity.