Gibson Brands Forums

How many of us started with something similar?

Kelvinator

Our lead vocalist's husband sent this over to me - it hadn't worked in years, and he asked me to get it going again. Man did this bring back some memories... My first bass was almost identical. So how many of you started out with something like this? msp_flapper.gif

Daveshouse1047.jpg

78c36844-55e0-4210-95c9-5fc995f6abe6.jpg

Near as I can figure it's a '64 or '65 (dating theses things is difficult). I took it apart, cleaned the pot and the switches, put in a new jack, touched up some solder joints, and put on some new strings....... It's alive and well! Fun Saturday basement project for sure.

Much to my surprise, this thing sounds and plays great (not Gibson great, but...) I'll hate to give it back! msp_scared.gif

1970s Kent P-Bass copy in 30" scale and clown sunburst. Horrible. A couple months later I got a blue '73 Musicmaster Bass for $70. More playable but still bad.

My eyes weren't opened until I got my first long scale, another P Bass copy that I don't even think had a name. Then I jumped up into a real P Bass and life as I know it began.

I was 16, my first bass in 1968, wasn't even that good. It didn't have a name on it from what I remember. Dark red in color, heavy as all get out, and a neck that was way to big. The tuners were lousy too. :rolleyes::: In Feb. of 1969 changed to a EKO violin bass, until late 1969, early 1970, went to a new Gibson EB0. It cost a lot back then. [thumbup]

Much to my surprise, this thing sounds and plays great (not Gibson great, but...) I'll hate to give it back! msp_scared.gif

I have one of those with the foil pool on the front that I picked up some time ago (when they were still more reasonably priced) and I do concur - those pickups are really pretty amazing! Add the pencil neck and these little basses are a ball to play around with!

I dig mine and I still gig it from time to time!