Gibson Brands Forums

Condenser vs dynamic mics?

skilsaw

This question has very little to do with amps, but since mics plug into amps, I put the question here.

What is the low tech description of the difference between condenser and dynamic mics?

Can either be used (one at a time)in the same jack on an amplifier?

What is the difference between XLR and TRS microphone input on an amplifier?

I understand condenser mics run on "Phantom Power" from the amp. Do all amps have phantom power?

I'm new to this so please try not to get too technical.

Thanks.

Generally spoken, a condenser mic creates a voltage difference from a capacitor of which one plate is moving with sound. The capacitor must be charged, and the signal must be amped up within the mic. Dynamic mics generate a signal using a coil or a ribbon moving with sound in a magnetic field. Due to less moving mass, condenser mics will transduce the upper treble range better.

Condenser mics cannot be used into a TRS input. For the reason see the following.

Depending on the specific unit, XLR and TRS inputs may have same input signal sensitivity and amplification range or differ with these. The XLR input usually has the lower input impedance and can be designed to provide phantom power. Except for some units with XLR/TRS combo inputs feeding it against all standards to TRS sockets as well, TRS inputs do not supply phantom power. Always refer to the specifications in the manual of the related unit.

Phantom power is provided by many vocal amps or mixers. Some do this switchable per input, some per pair of inputs, some switch even more inputs together. One switch per input is best for flexibility.

Please also refer to the replies there: http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/116496-what-is-a-condenser-vs-dynamic-mic/page__p__1581457#entry1581457

Hi Skilsaw

The reply by capmaster is correct, but since you asked for a 'non technical' answer, it might appear a bit complicated....