Gibson Brands Forums

Looking to buy my first LP

stugots945

I have to wonder how many people ask something like this, so I hope it's not too annoying. I've been playing for about 5-6 years. I learned on a Strat and really want get an LP as my next guitar. I was looking for suggestions on which model to get. I don't know enough to say I want a particular sound other than to say I want a bigger rock sound than the Strat. Something a little fatter. But that probably goes without saying. I've read some differences between all the LPs but it is still going over my head. The differences between the standard, deluxe, traditional...I'm just not educated enough to figure it out. I thought if maybe I pointed out what I'm looking for some of you experts could direct me. Would really appreciate any help.

1. I don't mind paying a bit. If at the end of the day the pricier model best suits me, then I'm okay with it. I look at this as an investment and a few hundred dollars now will pay off later. So I was kind of avoiding studio models.

2. I do have a tendency to get some fatigue playing a lot of bar chords or blues. Is there anything about the necks of these different models to consider for this?

3. I don't love the electronic tuner on the newer models. I find it strange there are no LPs this year without them. I'd have to think there are a lot of purists out there who don't dig this. Is there a particular year that I should be looking at to avoid this, but still get a great guitar.

4. New or used, I'm cool either way.

Anyway thank you in advance. I just want to make a smart choice.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It always comes down to how much money are you willing to spend to get a guitar that is better than the next cheaper one doesn't it.

I started with a $900 Gibson Les Paul Studio, great pickups and a nice no fancy paint or binding guitar.