Gibson Brands Forums

Which Acoustic Strings ?

gibbyuk

Hello

I'm fairly new to acoustic guitars, having been playing electric guitars in the past.

Please could I have your input relating to which strings you feel are best.

I own a Gibson J-45 set up with Gibson Brite Wires 12's

I'm thinking of switching to Ernie Ball Acoustic Super Slinky 11's (same brand as I used when playing my electric guitar)

Which is the best brand ?

which gauge do you prefer ?

Are these coated long-life string worth the extra coat ?

Thanks !

never tried Ernie Ball acoustics.

I used to not like coated strings .

I gave elixir 80/20's at the minute and like them but heavy strumming dosent work so well. am using mostly fingers lately so they're fun right now. The slipperyness of them is weird after not using them for a while. But it's good to have something to adapt to.

dadarrio 12's were my go to strings because they're cheap and easy got.

can't use martin strings because they go dead and sticky too fast for me. be lucky if I got a few days out of them. But I do like the martin longlife strings , they last a decent amount of time.

For purely long lastingness point of view though Elixirs are the kings.

pyramid westerns are great for the price if bought from thomann , but you have to order a load because they charge heavy for shipping.

its all about what type of player you are.

my strings might work for me but not you...and what I think sounds good you may think sounds rubbish.

If you want a dark gentle noise , or a big booming sound ... you feel the guitar is too quiet or too loud .....

its all a bit like saying you're going out to an ice cream shop later and want to know what flavour we all think you should get :)

As Mr. Grunt said, there is no "best" string or gauge. Like the guitar you match the strings to the player. It is a matter of knowing yourself and what it takes to get the sound you have in your head out of a guitar which takes some experimenting and time.