Gibson Brands Forums

New addition

Starpeve

Sorry, I posted this in the lounge, then decided to copy it here. Although it's not an Epi amp, I needed something considerably quieter than my Valve Junior to practice with at home, and I'm so delighted with this little thing that I wanted to share it with you guys.

I know there was a thread a while ago where someone was asking about the best beginner effect pedals to get, and one of the regulars raved about his Yamaha thr10 modelling amp. It got me curious so I've been keeping an eye on them, and finally I thought " Bugger it!" . Yeterday I bought myself the 10c, described as the " Boutique" version. Unlike other modellers, the Yamaha boys model the individual components in the amp model, rather than modelling the final sound of the amp model, thereby giving more realistic valve simulation. Well, unlike a lot of you out there, I have no experience with the real amps included, but 'WOW', this is one seriously good sounding amp! Quite loud for a 10 watt tranny, with the bonus that you can crank up theamp sections, but turn down the output whilst retaining tha cranked sounds. And versatile as hell! Intended as a bedroom amp, I've seen demos of this thing miked up, and they sounded too good to believe. Now I believe. Stereo as well, and you can even use it as

a hi-fi player [thumbup] for your ipod, whatever- or feed music into to play along with, with individual controls for inputs. Usb into a computer for recording, which gives you parallel dry/ wet feeds, some good yet simple onboard effects, and simple preset facilities with more sophisticated tone modeling via software. This thing really is amazing. If you get a chance, try one out! There's also the 'x' model, which is aimed at higher gain amps. [