Gibson Brands Forums

What are the real good Epiphones?

eagle_fly

Hi all,

I am relatively new to guitar but think I am becoming better and need a better guitar.

I would love a J45 or at least a J35 but that ain't happening any time soon.

Plus, I am a hobbyist and although I love the sound of true Gibbies, can't afford one.

So, my question is what are the really good Epis.

I know about the Masterbuilts, would love a sunburst Epiphone AJ500M, but hard to find.

I am patient and keep looking.

What else should be on my list?

Thanks!!!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You will probably end up with a bunch of recommendations and some will be very nice playing and sounding guitars. But making a guitar that looks like a J-45 and making a guitar that sounds like a J-45 are two different things. Generally the usual uspects that will be named - Epis or possibly a Blue Ridge or Recording King - will be brighter sounding, lack the Gibson low end thump, and have a different note decay. When you hear somebody saying their budget friendly this or that guitar sounds just like or even better than the Gibson, more than likely they have not been closer to that Gibson than the pages of a Sweetwater catalog.

So I guess I come from the position of accept no substitutes. Buy an Epi because you like that guitar not because you are looking for a wallet friendly clone of a Gibson.

By most accounts, the "Inspired by '64 Texan" is an excellent example of a fine sounding and playing Epiphone, and quite a value. I don't own one, but many here and on the Epiphone forum do, and they provide it with a lot of praise. I have played them in stores, and at one time compared one side by side with a Masterbilt AJ-500M, and saw and heard little difference, except cosmetically. Specs change, so I don't know that still to be true, but if I were looking for an Epiphone, I would start there.