Gibson Brands Forums

Have guitarists gotten dumber?

houndman55

This is an honest question. While I'm no expert by any account I'd imagine most high status guitarist from say the 60's and 70's like Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page and Tommi Iommi never took any guitar lessons. Yet they became some of the most recognizable guitarists of all time. But in my own case I would never dream of playing by ear, not that I have anything against it but I can't do it. I'd say most upcoming guitarists are actively taking lessons, reading tabs etc. But it seems like most old school guitarist are self taught for the most part. So they question is, is this current generation of guitarists techincally inferior compared to any old geezer from the classic rock age?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's human nature to use every available advantage, so I would imagine Hendrix, Clapton, Green and company would have used internet lesson, had they been available. As regards learning by ear, it is something that can be learned, but some people just excel at it. When I was at School, one of my mates could listen to most records a couple of times and play it perfectly. It used to p**s me off because it would take me hours to do the same thing.

Ian

Hello!

Players, - generations before - did not have the choice of Guitar Pro, not even tabulature. They didn`t have any musical editor software to slow down a track...

They either learned from transcriptions (if available for that genre of music), or learned by ear.

Transcriptions costed money. Most of them couldn't afford to go to music schools - all they could do is to listen to records and/or watch others play.

We have been conditioned to become lazy with so many options given.

Cheers... Bence

Controversial subject here!