Gibson Brands Forums

Best tuning pegs for LP Classic

Waynel

Time to replace the tuning pegs on my 1961 LP Classic re-issue. Looking for locking pegs if possible. Yes, I can use a drill (I'm a carpenter) but would rather find some that will just drop right in. Any suggestions? BTW, just an aside. I've owned various LP's for over 20 years. It's always been the G string that seems to go out of tune with the pegs that came with LP's. Has anyone else had this happen? Please don't forget your replacement suggestions and price is no problem (as I went off topic). Thanks. I gig with my LP, Tele and Strat but LP is always my main guitar.

It's probably not the tuning pegs, it's more something to do with the physics of guitars, many guitars have trouble with the G string. Lube is important but I pull many of my G's sharp using a heavy grip. I try fretting lighter or sometimes de-tuning the G just a hair. I notice the problem more when playing Cowboy chords.

I may be wrong but I think most people have the wrong idea about what locking tuners are...

I have them on my 2008 Standard... What a locking tuner does is lock the string into the peg so you don't need to wind it much to get it in tune.. They don't lock the tuning in place... I think you may be thinking about locking nuts that do hold the strings down (which you may use if you are a constant whammy bar user to stop it constantly going out of tune).

Locking tuners are useful only for the speed and ease of changing a string.. They still go out of tune.

As others have said its more likely to be the nut than anything.

I may be wrong but I think most people have the wrong idea about what locking tuners are...