Gibson Brands Forums

Different types of 1959 Les Pauls

orionoda

Hey,

I'm new to the forums and I decided to join the moment I decided I wanted to get a 1959 for myself. Problem is since I'm no expert I'm a bit lost regarding the variety of them.

I've been browsing the Gibson oficial catalogue and many many stores (trustworthy stores, from what I can tell) and I've seen an enormous variety of 1959 LP with different names, different set-ups, different finishes... there's LP 1959 Reissue, LP Historic Collection, VOS, Collector's Choice, LP Standard 1959 and so on... What I wanted to know is whether there is a huge difference between those and if it's possible for a 1959 to have different specs than the Gibson catalogue.

I mean, I've come across a few different 1959 LPs, such as one with three pickups, some with Custombuckers, others with Burstbuckers 1&2 or 2&3, or even '57 Classics, one had nickel-covered nick pickup and an open coil bridge pickup, one which had that same feature of the Collector's Choice #1 (in which the neck pickup is wired out of phase) but was NOT a CC#1, and all claiming to be 1959s. I've seen a few with pickguards, others without, some with the "Gibson Custom" stamp on the back toggle-switch cover, some without and some with finishes I can't even find any info about (such as Surrey Burst). All come with the regular stuff, such as cases and COAs and they have no problem whatsoever in showing the serial number and all. They all seem legit but since I'm new to the 1959 field of expertise, I don't know whether there are really so many variations and that's what I want to know. Are there really so many variations like that? I couldn't find many in the Gibson website catalogue, so I'm in doubt.