Gibson Brands Forums

Just bought a J15 for my first guitar ever

ubet28

Hello i just bought a J15 for my first guitar ever. I am looking forward to learning how to play it. I know some might be like why spend so much on first guitar well a few reasons 1.) i have always wanted a gibson. 2.) I figured i wanted to buy something in the middle of road that i could grow into.. 3.) If for some reason i dont get into playing like i expect i will i will simply store the guitar and pass it on down to my first born grandchild who is not born yet.

Now I am a total noob here But i want to get a good set of studio monitors to play through. My plan is to use a focusrite 2i2 plugged into my 2014 macbook pro 2.2 im gonna use garage band for now.. I have been looking at the JBL 305 & 308 not sure really on what to buy. I will take any advice or recomendations on speakers interface cables any thing i may need. I would like to only buy once dont want to just waste money but would like the best bang for the buck. I would like to get the stuff ordered tonight or in the morning so i could have the stuff by this weekend. I understand as far as the speakers go i should go demo as many as possiable. But i just dont have the time to do so. I have watched multiple youtube videos and dont feel i can go wrong with the JBL but thought i would ask in here to see what responses i get. Thanks and have a great night..

That is a very nice guitar you have. I got one when they came out. I love it. I agree with FB. Wait awhile on that other stuff. You may change your mind what you want as your playing progresses.

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

Rob

was wondering that myself. ..

unless you're jimi hendrix incarnate it's gonna be a year or so until you'll be able to bare the racket you're gonna make :D

I wouldn't wanna hear a tape of me from 30 years ago

ha..i have a bootleg vinyl from about 30 years ago...from a guy called Blind Boy Grunt....and it's pretty good..even Dylan like [wink]