Gibson Brands Forums

Forty Years of Playing, Now My First Les Paul

Silvercrow

Hi Folks! Great to be here!. As the title says, I've been playing for over 40 years- had always been a Fender guy, particularly Telecasters. (G&Ls too..ASAT Classic) Anyway, a few years ago I had my long saved for PRS McCarty stolen and since then I searched for an affordable replacement. While having work done on my acoustic, the shop owner directed me to a 2009 Les Paul Cherry faded. Excellent condition and apparently the previous owner sprung for the hard shell case. I picked it up and immediately fell in love; the feel of the 50s neck, worn in and comfortable! And the Burstbucker pros- man, IMO what a versatile pickup set!!! I should have known the scale would be a fit for me- my all-time favorite acoustic had a "short scale"! I walked out the door with it and unfortunately had to put it down to go to work today!

I can usually tell when I'm gonna bond with a particular guitar, and I am sure this one and I are going to be really close friends for a long time! Where the heck have I been all these years!!!

I'll post some pics but I'm sure you have all seen this guitar. I do have some questions though; as I have never owned a "satin" finished guitar, what is a good polish / cleaner for it? The fretboard was dry and I immediately gave it an ample drink of lemon oil-it came right back to life. I stopped by a local shop that I use for strings & things only, and got a bottle of "Dr. Ducks Ax Wax". I gave it one coat and the finish looks brighter. Any suggestions for continued care are appreciated!