Gibson Brands Forums

My new baby

ppburns

I just joined the forum and I am new to the Gibson family, having recently received a like-new 2014 Gibson SG Standard for Christmas. (I was a very good boy in 2014.) :)

Gibson_SG_Standard_2014_zps5b898d29.jpg

I am loving this guitar. It does have the SG tendency for the headstock to drop, but I'm using a strap now with a bit more friction which seems to help. I also have a strat, so I like having the humbucker tone to complement the single coils on the strat.

-Peter

• 1 month later...

late reply I but I am in process of getting the same guitar

any thing you can tell me about yours how do you like the color.

and mini tune I played new 2013's and I liked the 2014's better.

can you post more pics of your guitar so I can compare.

thanks

bongo

late reply I but I am in process of getting the same guitar

any thing you can tell me about yours how do you like the color.

and mini tune I played new 2013's and I liked the 2014's better.

can you post more pics of your guitar so I can compare.

thanks

bongo

I love the color. I was going to go with the usual cherry, but decided that I liked the look of the Manhattan Midnight better. It also helped that I got it as a used guitar from Guitar Center for around $1,000. It looked like it might have been a return, as it looked brand new with the film still covering the pick guard.

I've had the guitar for about 3 months now and have been playing it a lot. I love the feel of it, and I have made use of the coil tapping features. I get some really nice tones using it with my Mustang III amp. My other electric is a Strat, so I like having humbuckers on the SG.

I've used the Min-ETune mostly with standard tuning and once I calibrated it, it seems to work reliably. I hope to play around a bit with the alternate tunings, but haven't used them much so far.

I'll try and post more pictures when I get a chance.