Gibson Brands Forums

Need help with Vintage acoustic

okuley

Newbie here and a drummer so two strikes against me...I'm trying to get some idea on what exactly I have, vintage Gibson acoustic, I believe from the '48-'51 era. I've had it for 30 years, it's just hung on the wall. I posted a photo in the acoustic forum, and can't seem to post any more photos because of the 500K limit. I would appreciate any help you experts can provide me with. Someone suggested I try this topic for help. Thanks.

L50... Not worth much like that.. 450 tops. as a player.

Why so low? My same vintage J-50 doesn't look much different cosmetically. And I'm told it's worth a minimum of $3K. Beyond the missing pick guard. Are you seeing something I don't see? Or is the L-50 just not as valuable generally?

Newbie here and a drummer so two strikes against me...I'm trying to get some idea on what exactly I have, vintage Gibson acoustic, I believe from the '48-'51 era. I've had it for 30 years, it's just hung on the wall. I posted a photo in the acoustic forum, and can't seem to post any more photos because of the 500K limit. I would appreciate any help you experts can provide me with. Someone suggested I try this topic for help. Thanks.

You need to bring the pic over here too.

Why so low? My same vintage J-50 doesn't look much different cosmetically. And I'm told it's worth a minimum of $3K. Beyond the missing pick guard. Are you seeing something I don't see? Or is the L-50 just not as valuable generally?

Generally on these.. to command a healthy price , condition is everything.. but you own it.. and if you like it.. play it.. they sound not to bad..

Generally on these.. to command a healthy price , condition is everything.. but you own it.. and if you like it.. play it.. they sound not to bad..

I don't own it. Just asking for GP. I thought those old Gibson & Epiphone F-Hole guitars were valuable. I do understand that condition is very important.