Gibson Brands Forums

recording interface , two mic problem

blindboygrunt

Hello folks .

Never posted in here before. Am a regular at the acoustic section only but someone suggested I'd have luck with a question here.

I'm new to home recording and got myself a lexicon alpha interface.

Works great , but , I'd like to record my guitar using a mic rather than the cheesy sounding piezo pickup. Vocals and guitar simultaneously.

Because the interface has two inputs , one jack input and one xlr , I purchased a lead which has xlr (mic) to quarter inch jack (interface) but it seems nothing is reaching the interface . ie no signal. The lead is fine as I have tested it with the mic straight to an amp.

Am I missing something ?

Thanks

Hello folks .

Never posted in here before. Am a regular at the acoustic section only but someone suggested I'd have luck with a question here.

I'm new to home recording and got myself a lexicon alpha interface.

Works great , but , I'd like to record my guitar using a mic rather than the cheesy sounding piezo pickup. Vocals and guitar simultaneously.

Because the interface has two inputs , one jack input and one xlr , I purchased a lead which has xlr (mic) to quarter inch jack (interface) but it seems nothing is reaching the interface . ie no signal. The lead is fine as I have tested it with the mic straight to an amp.

Am I missing something ?

Thanks

looks like you're missing another XLR input. the line input on the interface is made for just that. line level sources. you will need to get a mic preamp to go between the mic and the interface. depending on what kind of mic you're using, it may require phantom power (that could be your problem also).

Am I missing something ?

I notice the manual says "Note: Plugging a cable into the Instrument input disconnects the Line In 1 input. Plugging a cable into the Line In 2 input disconnects the Mic input." I imagine you've tried different input configurations?