Gibson Brands Forums

Bought a new Ephiphone but need help :(

donaldgwapo

Hello, Guys! Sorry about this question. I'm new to this.

I bought a new acoustic guitar out-of-the-box. Epiphone AJ220SCE.

Bought it from a place where the climate is so cold it reaches 9dec celcius.

Took it home (average of 30 dec celcius).

After about 2 days of usage, i hear buzzing sound on the bass strings especially when I use the first to 5th fret.

I took it to a luthier near my location. He told me it's normal for an acoustic guitar to have buzzing sounds since the guitar and strings are new. He tried to replace it with a newly bought Martin Bass string (gauge 12) and still has a buzzing sound. He checked the neck and he says it's not bowed or warped.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Sorry for my english.

I took it to a luthier near my location....and still has a buzzing sound.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Sounds to me like you need to find a new guitar tech.

Changes in guitars is normal with medium to extreme climate changes. A good "professional" setup is all you should need.

Guitars-especially acoustic-are very susceptible to changes in temp and humidity-especially quick and dramatic changes.Guitars should be kept in an environment with around 45% humidity and a temp between 65 and 75 F-a general rule of thumb is that an environment that you are comfortable in is also comfortable for your guitar.Let your guitar stabilize for a day or two at a constant temp and humidity and your guitar may very well sort itself out,if not a simple tweak of the trussrod may take care of the buzzing,rather than having to go through the expense of a complete setup.

That's actually what I plan to do. I am going to let it sit around for a month or two. If nothing changes and buzzing stays, I might have to take it to a professional in our capital which is 500kms from here @_@

Anyway, here's a video and images of my guitar for your reference. Thanks!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWpBwkPEP-g

20150210_135940.jpg