Gibson Brands Forums

NGD-The Wait Begins

MaceWindu57

Today, after doing a month or so of research, I pulled the trigger and ordered an Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500 MCE Acoustic electric in Vintage Sunburst! [biggrin] I am a new student of the guitar, and I have a Yamaha DS01, which is similar to their FG-700. I was looking at Yamaha also, but the Masterbilt won me over because of it being a solid wood guitar, and the reviews I read and videos I watched.

There were none to check out locally, but I own an Epiphone ES-335 Limited PRO, and was impressed with the quality of it, so I went for it. I wanted to get a higher quality guitar, and see how much difference it will make in playability; though at my current level it probably won't be much.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the new guitar. I currently use Elixir Nano web lights on the Yamaha, although I have heard good things about D'Addario strings. I have some D'Addario's on hand and may try them on the new Masterbilt, which comes with them according to Epiphone.

I can hardly wait! My guitar teacher is going record some songs this weekend for me to learn to play!!!

depending on where you live you should allow it to warm up before you un wrap it. you don't want it to warp or anything. I live in Ontario Canada and had to let mine sit for a day before I got to play it but it was well worth the wait it is an amazing guitar

What a wonderful guitar! You went for the best right off the bat didn't you?! Good for you! Everyone loves the Masterbilt series by Epiphone. Your going to love it too!...and the sunburst will REALLY make it hot!