Gibson Brands Forums

Buying a used SG

solving

I'm thinking about buying a used SG.

Either a standard or 61 reissue.....

And since I'm new to electric guitars (I play acoustic) I would like some tips on what to look out for and be aware of when it comes to used SG's

Any typical issues like the neck?

Warning signs etc..

Thankful for any input and guidence

When about SGs, it's basically like with other Gibson guitars featuring mahogany necks. One should take care in particular for the peghead since an unwanted bump or fall might easily snap it off. Very slim neck profiles like the early 60's shape are a bit infamous for that, but I think there's no problem when properly handled and transported.

The neck joint should be flawless, but to my knowledge it's seldom a source of trouble.

Any vibrato system on SGs is a matter of taste, but one can't expect a tuning stability like that of a Floyd Rose.

Depending on neck and body masses, some SGs are neck-heavier than others. A wide leather strap with a suede back is very helpful in controlling neck dive, but the less neck-heavy, the more comfortable the handling. I dislike holding up the neck with my fretting hand, so my right forearm and the strap will have to do that.

Some of my pals rubbed off the finish of their neck's treble side edge over time through supporting the neck, so this could be another point worth checking.

I don't make any claim to be complete here, but I hope it helps.

The only SG I've ever touched (played) had a neck like a Louisville Slugger. Never tried another...once was enough to turn me off of SG's. That was 1969. Other than that I know nothing about them other than lots guys like them.

This makes me guess you didn't try one of the xtra slim SGs up to now?

http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/118777-new-lp-golden-pearl-and-sg-xtra-slim/page__view__findpost__p__1618205