Gibson Brands Forums

Imperfection/flaw in SG binding

MrBax

Hello everyone,

In March 2012, I bought this brand new Gibson SG standard at a music store in Ontario, Canada. Shortly afterwards, my son was born and unfortunately the guitar went in the closet for a few years, and I didn't get many opportunities to play it much.

Recently however, I started playing it again and I saw something on the binding that I never noticed before. On the treble side of the neck, around the 17th or 18th fret, there appears to be a flaw or imperfection in the binding (see attached photo). The binding seems to dip inwards a bit, and it's especially noticeable when sighting the neck. It's almost like someone at the factory tried to remove a scratch or mar in the binding by sanding or filing it out; you can see a lot of tool marks on the fretboard around that area.

Naturally, I was really disappointed when I discovered this.

I wanted to ask you guys if you've seen this before, if this is common, or if anything can be done to repair this (obviously without having to replace the binding)?

Thanks so much

post-56042-062887800 1424566365_thumb.jpg

The binding is filed down to the fret board and the sides are shaped and the nibs are smoothed by hand. If you look closely enough you will see imperfections on most Gibsons with bound necks. I would try not to worry about it and would definitely not replace the binding.

I've found various flaws on mine partially due to reading this forum because tons of things are pointed out and discussed. I wouldn't fret over it (pun intended.).